Southern Illinois Spring Classic Preview

Well, Spring is upon us.  Or, at least, it’s supposed to be.  The weather in Southern Illinois has always been maddening.  Just when you think you have it all figured out, a Spring like this pops up.  I’m not surprising anyone here when I say this, but the weather has been CRAZY.  I mean, if the temps all winter long had been in the low to mid teens, this would be perfectly normal.  Oddly enough, though, it’s getting COLDER!

For those of you who aren’t friends with me on Facebook, and don’t see my daily Nike+ running updates, I am mostly an afternoon runner.  And, the temps of my runs are ALL OVER THE BOARD!  For example:  On January 9th, at 4:00, the temperature was 55.  Yesterday, March 18th, at 7:00 the temp was 41.  Last Friday at 1:45 it was 68.  That’s a difference of nearly 30 degrees in 2 days.

Normally, I’m not that much of a whiner.  Usually the only thing I whine about is everything my allergies.  But, with these weather changes, I now love to whine about my sinuses.  The fluctuations in pressure and temperature are KILLING me.  I’ve been sick about 5 times already this spring.  No… not germ sick.  Rather, the kind of sick where your head could just explode, then the drainage kills your throat, then your body fights it for days at a time and is just worn out!  Exactly sick enough to WANT to miss work, but not sick enough to actually do it.  I’m tired of it.

With all of this going on, and in mind, I prepare for Half Marathon #3 of the year.  The upcoming race is in Lawrenceville, IL at the Southern Illinois Spring Classic.  To be honest, I’m not really looking forward to this one, for a few reasons.  First off, it’s a 2 and a half hour drive.  That wouldn’t be far, if I were staying there the night before.  Sadly, I’m making the drive the morning of.  So, with a 7:45 start time, I plan to leave home at 4:30AM.  Hopefully I’ll arrive shortly before 7, pick up my packet, change my clothes, drink a little water, stretch, and toe the line.  Secondly, it’s going to be COLD! (Imagine that) Half Marathon #1 at Crab Orchard was 41 degrees at the end.  #2 in Little Rock was 43 at the end.  At last look, the low for this coming Saturday in Lawrenceville looked to be 34 with a high of 46.  So, I’m guessing a finish temp around 9:45 of 40.  Let me tell you…. if the finishing temp at the end of a race at the end of MARCH is only 40, I’m gonna be ticked!!  Finally, and maybe most importantly, is the way I’ve been feeling.  I’m pretty miserable today.  My voice is gone, my legs are cashed, and my body is weak…

Here’s what I AM looking forward to at this race.  It is supposed to be a good, small, local race.  That means: small field.  Those of you who run a lot of local races know this means one of two things.  Either those will be some great runners, and I’ll have lots of rabbits to chase, ORRRrrrr…. not a lot of fast runners and I can place in my age group.  (My luck, 4 people in my age group, I’m in 4th, and every other age group, I would have been 2nd… just sayin’)  The other great thing this race has going for it is the free breakfast at the end!  Totally excited about some pancakes and some biscuits and gravy.  ALSO…. $500 door prize!  Yeah, free money.  You don’t even need to be fast.  All you have to be is lucky.  I’ll run the whole race with my fingers crossed if it’ll help!

Anyway… here’s what I’m worried about: After this race, I will have run 3 half marathons in temps in the mid 30’s to low 40’s.  After this race, I have 15 days off until the GO! St. Louis Half Marathon.  My fear is that the temp on that day will be in the mid to high 60’s.  Because that temperature difference of 25-30 degrees could LITERALLY kill me…. (don’t tell my wife)

So, say a little prayer for me, and wish me lots of luck!  Can’t wait to write my frigid recap after the weekend!

About snellsracechase

PE teacher, Tennis Coach, runner/jogger. Love my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

